ARC Check In: January ’21

So this is a new bookish post I’m hoping to do at the end of each month. I’ll just be checking in with the current state of my ARC pile. Basically trying to keep myself organised and accountable haha. At the moment I’ve managed to keep things pretty steady so nothing is out of control yet and hopefully I can keep on top of that going forward!

It’s so hard not to just request everything though…hah…haha…

My ratio is currently 106% (this is an error by the way, but I’m not complaining haha) on Netgalley. I’ve not quite plucked up the courage to request on Edelweiss because it seems harder to get accepted and their website is just confusing.

Keep in mind I’ve only been requesting for a month or so but I’m still really pleased and grateful for the ARCs I’ve actually had accepted. Some of them are been highly anticipating for months!

Finished Reading:

All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace – Publishing date is 2nd Feb, I already have my review written out and ready to be go so I’ll probably be posting that next week.

Next to Read:

Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert – Publishing date is 9th March. I was over the moon when I got accepted for this one. I love Hibbert’s Brown sisters, they’re so delightfully quirky. And the heroes so far have been very lovable and swoon-worthy, can’t wait to read more about Eve and Wayne.

The Shadow in the Glass by JJA Harwood – Publishing date is 18th March. So this is a gothic Cinderella telling which is supposed to be considered perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Laura Purcell. It sounds fascinating and I can’t wait to read it!

Last Night by Mhairi McFarlane – Publishing date is 1st April. I believe this one is more women’s fiction than a romance but it sounded really interesting in the blurb. Hopefully I enjoy the writing, I know a lot of my bookish friends have enjoyed McFarlane’s works in the past so I’m pretty hopeful about this one!

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley – Publishing date is 27th May. It’s a new Pulley book! You can bet I requested this as soon as I saw it. It took TWO MONTHS for my request to be accepted. I thought for sure I’d be denied but I wasn’t! I squealed when I get the email, thank you so much Bloomsbury 😭😭😭

Threadneedle by Cari Thomas – Publishing date by 27th May. This was actually a wish I got granted! I’m still not entirely sure how the wishes system works but this is another one that drew me in with it’s blurb. And the cover is so gorgeous! There’s a Waterstones edition with red sprayed edges that I’ve got my eye on, I’m hoping the ARC will blow me away but I might just preorder it anyway because it’s so pretty haha.

You and Me on Vacation by Emily Henry – Publishing date 8th July. July seems so far away right now! But this book just makes me long for a holiday in the sun somewhere. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Beach Read, Henry’s debut book, and its been on my shelf for ages so maybe reading this ARC will finally convince me to actually read her other one.

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan – Publishing date 22nd July. This one is supposed to be like a Queer Mulan and honestly it had me sold on that premise alone. I don’t know much about Chinese history, and this book is essentially a re-imagining of the rise to power of Zhu Yuanzhang, the founding Emperor of the Ming Dynasty. It’s going to be interesting to read about something that’s not Euro-Centric for a change!


So there’s my list of ARCs so far! I only have 6 left to read, and a few months to get them read in so I’m feeling pretty confident so far. I’m also quite happy with the fact that I’ve stuck to two genres so far, romance and fantasy. I think if I requested everything I was interested in I’d soon find it out of control! Hopefully I can keep up with this pace though and make sure this list stays fairly manageable in the future too!

Do you request books on Netgalley? How do you manage to refrain from requesting everything? 😅

Happy Reading!

Lea x

8 thoughts on “ARC Check In: January ’21

      • I thought I was on top of my Netgalley and apparently I was wrong as my ratio now sits in the mid-50s so I need to force myself to hold off on requesting more haha – it will prove to be a difficult task. I can’t wait to see what you think about these though as they all sound interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Can’t wait to see what you think of them! I need to stay off Netgalley’s request page until I finish most of what I have (at least the February/March releases) before I request more….one day I will have it back under control (your 67 is my goal to get to at least this month before I move on to the 70s and 80s haha)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s